Christians, it’s time to stop picking bad fruit from a bad tree.

  
I hope I start to see changes in how many American Christians talk about LGBTQ people and equality issues. Because if you tell us that you’re sorry for our suffering today, but go back to opposing our rights and demeaning us for being LGBTQ tomorrow, then your words of love are empty and pointless. If you falsely accuse trans people of putting you in danger in bathrooms but you don’t work to stop the REAL violence we face every day, then you are a hypocrite.

You must reevaluate how you address LGBTQ issues. You MUST start accepting us, even if you personally still disagree with us. You can’t claim to care about me and still oppose legislation that would help protect me and those I love from violence and discrimination. You can’t claim to care about us when your anti-LGBTQ teachings are literally driving young people into depression and suicide at record rates, and encouraging people to see us as threats which results in violence. You don’t get to claim to be loving when you spread misinformation about us that puts us in even more danger. Many Christians believe in sin, but they don’t expect non-believers to follow their religion’s standards and they don’t put us down for it or fight our legal equality. This I understand and can even respect. But you have NO RIGHT to expect anyone else to live by your religion’s standards, or to socially punish people for not conforming to your personal ideas of morality and normality. It’s literally killing us, and has been for a very long time. But you don’t see it. You don’t want to see it. You want to see us as bad people who are persecuting you, instead of the other way around. 

  
You keep picking bad fruit off the tree and saying it’s a good tree. But the fruit of homophobia is pain and death. Why are you still watering a poisonous tree? 

Do I have to scream for you to hear me? Do I have to bleed for you to see me? Cause I grieve; you’re not listening to me. (A song from my Christian days. It seemed appropriate.)

11 thoughts on “Christians, it’s time to stop picking bad fruit from a bad tree.

  1. If someone threw their gayness in my face. No, I am not saying that they are because I don’t know anybody who is gay personally, however, same sex couples like heterosexual couples should have the right to marry.

  2. If the person or people who were gay were pressuring me to be gay myself. Personally, I think the gay community should be left in peace so long as they are not do anything to impose their views on people who are not gay. The same is true for people who are not gay who are trying to impose their views on people who are gay. Gay people should be free to be openly gay without prejudice.

    • Nobody should ever be pressured to be any sexuality that they are not, or judged for loving another consenting adult. It’s no one’s business who they love unless it’s someone who cannot legally consent, such as a minor.

      I understand what you’re saying, but I wonder what you mean by imposing their views on people who are not gay? In my experience this argument is usually used against us when we are openly fighting for social equality and recognition as equals, or speaking out against harmful social ideas that regularly drive LGBTQ youth to depression and suicide. Unfortunately, sometimes we will have to impose our views on others because not doing so means we will never be treated as equals and LGBTQ youth will continue suffering and killing themselves. However, if someone is treating me with dignity and respect and doesn’t oppose my fight for equal rights and social justice, I don’t care what they personally believe or who they love.

  3. Lilly Black, what I mean by imposing one’s view upon others is that some leaders in the U.S. want to have a moratorium on same sex marriage, basically making it illegal for one person to marry another person of the same sex if they want to. Quite honestly, I really don’t care if 2 people of the same sex want to marry. Same sex marriage will never devalue traditional marriage. Some people say gay people are born gay and some say that we all have an inert sexuality.

    • I can agree with that.

      I want everyone to be able to follow their own conscience and personal beliefs when it comes to who they love and spend their lives with (consenting adults of course). I agree that same sex marriage does not devalue heterosexual marriage. The sanctity of marriage, in my opinion, is found in the couple’s commitment and respect for each other rather than what their genitals look like. Game shows where people treat marriage like a contest is not very respectful to the idea of marriage in my opinion, but to each their own. I just want the freedom and dignity to make my own romantic or sexual choices with other consenting adults. And I want to live in peace with people of all beliefs and political leanings.

No trolling, please! Genuine dialogue for the purpose of mutual understanding is appreciated; debates are not. General comments are welcome.

