Quotes: Mental Health and Overcoming Sh*t

I kinda want to frame some of these. I was compiling this list for myself this week while processing stuff related to my ADD and mental health, and thought I’d share them since I know many of you are dealing with similar things or know people who are. What quotes encourage you?

Never give up. Today is hard, tomorrow will be worse, but the day after tomorrow will be sunshine.
Jack Ma

Survival can be summed up in three words – never give up. That’s the heart of it really. Just keep trying.
Bear Grylls

There isn’t anybody out there who doesn’t have a mental health issue, whether it’s depression, anxiety, or how to cope with relationships. Having OCD is not an embarrassment anymore – for me. Just know that there is help and your life could be better if you go out and seek the help.
Howie Mandel

The problem with the stigma around mental health is really about the stories that we tell ourselves as a society. What is normal? That’s just a story that we tell ourselves.
Matthew Quick

We take our kids for physical vaccinations, dental exams, eye checkups. When do we think to take our – our son or daughter for a mental health checkup?
Gordon Smith

If mental illness could be seen on a sufferer maybe society wouldn’t say “just get over it.”
Lonely Lotus

When we deny the story, it define us. When we own the story, we can write a brave new ending.
Brene Brown

Never underestimate the pain of a person, because in all honesty, everyone is struggling. Just some people are better at hiding it than others.

Masquerading as a normal person, day after day, is just exhausting.

The two most powerful words when we’re in struggle: ‘me too’.
(YES!! This has been so huge for me, knowing that I’m not the only person who deals with this stuff.)

When someone is going through a storm, your silent presence is more powerful than a million empty words.
Thelma Davis

I am the same person I was before you found out I have a mental disorder.

Your illness does not define you. Your strength and courage does.

From the outside looking in, it’s hard to understand. from the inside looking out, it’s hard to explain.

Do not apologize for crying. Without this emotion, we are only robots.
Elizabeth Gilbert

Nobody realizes that some people expend tremendous energy merely to be normal. -Albert Camus

Don’t be ashamed of your story, it will inspire others.

No one would ever say that someone with a broken arm or a broken leg is less than a whole person, but people say that or imply that all the time about people with mental illness.
Elyn Saks

I think the stigma attached to mental illness will disappear just like it did for cancer years ago.
Sally Graham

I fight for my health every day in ways most people don’t understand. I’m not lazy. I’m a warrior.

I am not a victim. No matter what I have been through, I’m still here. I have a history of victory.
Steve Maraboli

The mentally ill frighten and embarrass us. And so we marginalize the people who most need our acceptance. What mental health needs is more sunlight, more candor, more unashamed conversation.
Glenn Close

“Your perspective on life comes from the cage you were held captive in.”
― Shannon L. Alder

“i think the idea of a ‘mental health day’ is something completely invented by people who have no clue what it’s like to have bad mental health. the idea that your mind can be aired out in twenty-four hours is kind of like saying heart disease can be cured if you eat the right breakfast cereal. mental health days only exist for people who have the luxury of saying ‘i don’t want to deal with things today’ and then can take the whole day off, while the rest of us are stuck fighting the fights we always fight, with no one really caring one way or another, unless we choose to bring a gun to school or ruin the morning announcements with a suicide.”
― David Levithan, Will Grayson, Will Grayson

I really liked this one in particular.

“Mental illness

People assume you aren’t sick
unless they see the sickness on your skin
like scars forming a map of all the ways you’re hurting.

My heart is a prison of Have you tried?s
Have you tried exercising? Have you tried eating better?
Have you tried not being sad, not being sick?
Have you tried being more like me?
Have you tried shutting up?

Yes, I have tried. Yes, I am still trying,
and yes, I am still sick.

Sometimes monsters are invisible, and
sometimes demons attack you from the inside.
Just because you cannot see the claws and the teeth
does not mean they aren’t ripping through me.
Pain does not need to be seen to be felt.

Telling me there is no problem
won’t solve the problem.

This is not how miracles are born.
This is not how sickness works.”
― Emm Roy, The First Step

No trolling, please! Genuine dialogue for the purpose of mutual understanding is appreciated; debates are not. General comments are welcome.

