Thoughts on Syrian Refugees and Terrorist Attacks

It makes me so angry to hear so many people talk about refusing Syrian refugees because of their race or religion. Are we truly so calloused that we would let people suffer and die so we never have to face any risks or deal with inconveniences? Are we so selfish that we aren’t willing to share the freedom and safety we take for granted because those who need it are a little different than we are?

Not long ago, the US turned away Holocaust victims over similar concerns. This makes me sick to my stomach; I’ve seen the documentaries, I’ve heard the stories of the survivors, and what they faced is far beyond what most of us can imagine. People were sent back to suffer and die because of “security concerns”. Entire groups of refugees were denied rescue because of the small chance that someone bad might try to sneak in. But terrorists can and do find other ways to get in; banning refugees will not stop terrorism. It never has, there are far easier ways to get into the country. 9/11 was not carried out by refugees. It’s debatable whether Paris was either.

Banning refugees is exactly what Daesh (another name for ISIS that they hate) wants. If no one will rescue their victims, then nobody will dare to leave their regime. How many militants and supporters secretly wish they could leave, but know that there’s nowhere for them to go? By giving into fear, the rest of the world is strengthening the very terrorist group they’re trying to get rid of.

The thought of so many people suffering and dying when we could be helping them makes my blood boil. There isn’t much that fills me with rage, I’m not prone to anger and can take a lot of personal hurt before I get truly angry at someone, but this… This makes me wish I could force these naysayers to spend a few hours in a refugee camp to see the desperate plight of the people that they’re refusing to help. I wish I could stop everything I’m doing right now and go help there myself. I wish I could go to the border and embrace someone who’s running from terror and war, and offer to share my home with them until they can build a new life of their own. I want to sit with them, cry with them, to show them that not all people in the world want to hurt them, that there is love and compassion still in the human race. I want to give them hope.

Sometimes all the hurt in the world is a bit overwhelming. I’m a very empathetic person, so I feel others’ pain deeply and the thought of others suffering brutal atrocities like this disturbs me so much. I don’t always know what to do about it; sometimes there’s not much I can do except spread awareness of ways we can help. But even though it can be overwhelming now and then, I wouldn’t change any of it. If we can’t empathize with others, we’ll never be moved to help them or to stop our own actions when they cause harm.

Call me an idealist, or a dreamer… I don’t care. I want a world that knows peace. I want an end to war and unnecessary suffering and injustice. And we’ll never get there if we don’t fucking help each other.

If you’re able to donate to help the refugees, here’s one place to do so. If you know of any other donation sites, or of any other ways we can help Syrian refugees as well as victims of the Paris attacks and all the other attacks that have been going on in the world lately, please comment with the information. If I can’t go and help them myself, at least I can try to spread awareness for what we can do from over here. [https://donate.unhcr.ca/index_custom.php?page_id=sy…

This song has been running through my head all day. [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y96WY5Do_bs]

No trolling, please! Genuine dialogue for the purpose of mutual understanding is appreciated; debates are not. General comments are welcome.

