Catholic High School Must Approve all Prom Dresses; I Had to Do That in College.

http://hellogiggles.com/teen-roundtable-schools-approving-prom-dresses/

Check it out: This Catholic high school requires students to show pictures of their dresses to be approved before prom.

I had to do this in COLLEGE. Let that sink in for a moment. Even as an adult in college I was not allowed to make my own decisions in regards to modesty; the school decided that for me because apparently Bible college students are not mature or astute enough to dress modestly on our own.

We had to do a “hallelujah test” where we raised our arms above our heads; if armpit, shoulder, or cleavage showed, we had to modify our shawl placement (so. many. pins.) or put a shirt on underneath it. We had to get our dresses approved beforehand twice a year: For the Christmas Banquet and Graduation Banquet. I was a master at making dresses “modest” but still “cute”, I helped the other girls every year. We couldn’t even wear dangly earrings with these gowns, studs only. (WTF?? How did I ever agree to these ridiculous rules?)

At the time I convinced myself I didn’t mind these restrictive rules and not being allowed to decide these things for myself, but deep down I really, really did mind. I LOVED dangly earrings, and I LOVED many dress styles that we could never ever wear because making them modest was either impossible or it would ruin the look. Even dresses that most people would consider modest were not good enough for them. I saw so many beautiful dresses marred by tee shirts underneath or bulky shawls that covered most of the embroidery or sparkles. What’s really the point of picking out a beautiful formal gown if you have to cover most of it up? Some girls just didn’t bother and wore regular church clothes. I spent hours sewing myself a satin short-sleeved jacket for my graduation banquet dress so I could meet their standards but still look nice.

2 thoughts on “Catholic High School Must Approve all Prom Dresses; I Had to Do That in College.

  1. I’m in Bible college now and I have to get my dress approved for banquet. I don’t mind it. At first I thought it was rediculous, but now I don’t mind it at all. However, my school does not have the worse dress code. I feel its not because bible college students are not mature, I think its so everyone is on the same page for a formal event.

    • I understand wanting people to be on the same page for a formal event, but there’s a difference between setting a theme or general guidelines for uniformity and shaming girls for their bodies by forcing them to adhere to someone else’s personal standards of modesty. There’s a difference between wanting general uniformity and treating Bible college students like children who can’t make their own decisions about how to dress themselves.

      I don’t know your school’s rules, so I can’t comment on that. I do hope that you have a wonderful time though 🙂 Banquets can be a lot of fun!

No trolling, please! Genuine dialogue for the purpose of mutual understanding is appreciated; debates are not. General comments are welcome.

